Get free moving quotes for your European move!

Request quotations from several european movers - no obligations!

Netherlands removal


Request free quotes for removals by dutch removal companies for your move within Europe!
Select your current region within the Netherlands here.

The Netherlands (Dutch: Nederland) is the European part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands that is formed by the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. (Dutch: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden). The Netherlands is a parliamentary democracy under a constitutional monarch, located in northwestern Europe. It borders the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east.

Living in the Netherlands

The Netherlands is one of the most densely populated and geographically low-lying countries in the world (its name literally means "Low-lands") and is famous for its dikes, windmills, wooden shoes, tulips, bicycles and social tolerance. Its liberal policies (towards drugs and prostitution among other things) receive international attention. The country is host to the International Court of Justice; Amsterdam is the official capital as stated by the constitution, but The Hague is the seat of government, the home of the monarch, and the location for most foreign embassies. The Netherlands ranked 12th on the 2005 UN Human Development Index.

The name Holland is often used, incorrectly, for The Netherlands, especially in other languages. The origin of the misnomer lies in the fact that the region of Holland was the economic powerhouse during the time of the United Provinces (1581-1795). After the Napoleonic era, Holland became a mere province of the Kingdom and was split into North and South Holland in 1840. Some people, especially from the southern provinces Limburg and North Brabant, object to the use of the name Holland for The Netherlands. But to avoid confusion when addressing other nationals, the Dutch themselves often use the name 'Holland'.

The Netherlands is divided into twelve administrative regions, called provincies:

  • Friesland - north west; capital Leeuwarden
  • Groningen - north east; capital Groningen
  • Drenthe - south of Groningen; capital Assen
  • Overijssel - east central, south of Drenthe; capital Zwolle
  • Flevoland - central, north of Utrecht; capital Lelystad
  • Gelderland - east central, south of Overijssel; capital Arnhem
  • Utrecht - central; capital Utrecht
  • North Holland - (Noord-Holland) north west (including Amsterdam); capital Haarlem
  • South Holland - (Zuid-Holland) west central, south of North Holland (including Rotterdam); capital The Hague ('s-Gravenhage or Den Haag)
  • Zeeland - south west; capital Middelburg
  • North Brabant - (Noord-Brabant) south central; capital 's-Hertogenbosch (or Den Bosch)
  • Limburg - south east; capital Maastricht.

Request quotes from moving companies within the Netherlands!